Quinteto sobre los poemas de Carlos Pintado

by Pamela J. Marshall

for violin, viola, cello, double bass, piano

Duration ~28 min.



Download a Preview PDF

Download “Quinteto – Preview (45001)”

pjm-Quinteto-score-preview.pdf – Downloaded 3151 times – 2.03 MB


Quinteto sobre los Poemas de Carlos Pintado, contemporary chamber music for strings and piano, uses the Trout quintet instrumentation: violin, viola, cello, doublebass, and piano. It was commissioned by and is dedicated to South Beach Chamber Ensemble of Miami, Florida, Michael Andrews, Director.

Each movement of this piece is inspired by a poem of Carlos Pintado, a Cuban-American poet in Miami. The poems’ phrasing suggested rhythms and melodic lines, and the imagery set the tone. There are four movements:

  • I. Las Noches en Mortefontaine
  • II. Colours Out of Space
  • III. Yo no te nombro musa
  • IV. Denme la sombra

Audiences have enjoyed hearing the poems read before each movement. You can choose whether to read in English or Spanish, or both, depending on your audience.

Composer’s note:

“Since I had been writing a lot of music connected to poetry, Michael and I wanted to do something with Cuban poetry. I enjoy reading Spanish poetry, although I’m not very advanced in Spanish, so I dove into various collections, dictionary in hand. When he met the well-known poet Carlos Pintado in his own neighborhood, we knew we had found our collaboration. Since then Carlos and I have become good friends and we attended the group’s Miami series of concerts and the South Beach Up North series in Wausau, WI where Carlos read his poems before the ensemble played each movement of Quinteto.”

Your purchase includes two files:

  • Score
  • Parts

Part of the Poetry-Inspired Music collection. Originally, I only included solos and duos in my Poetry-Inspired collection, but Quinteto is deeply rooted in Carlos Pintado’s poetry. It is definitely poetry-inspired!


Listen to a performance in Wisconsin by South Beach in their Up North series (streaming hosted by SoundClick).

LISTEN I. Las Noches en Mortefontaine

LISTEN II. Colours Out of Space

LISTEN III. Yo no te nombro musa

LISTEN IV. Denme la sombra


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Quinteto sobre los poemas de Carlos Pintado”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.